Organization of the CAVAC

Information on the Abitibi-Témiscamingue CAVAC may be found under the headings:

Board of directors

The Abitibi-Témiscamingue CAVAC board of directors consists of:

Ghislaine Ébacher
Retraitée des services judiciaires
Vice-Chair and Human resources coordinator
Stéphane Mailloux, Lieutenant
Coordinator of investigations
Regional investigations division of ATNQ
Sûreté du Québec
Sharon McBride
Native Para-Judicial Services of Québec
Me Marie-Chantal Brassard
Director of criminal and penal prosecutions
Vacant (to come) Director

Team of professionals

Persons seeking assistance from the Abitibi-Témiscamingue CAVAC are assured of competent services delivered by a team trained in the area of psychosocial and post-trauma intervention.


The Abitibi-Témiscamingue crime victims assistance centre officially opened on June 12, 2001 as the thirteenth CAVAC to be established in Québec.

Service area

The Abitibi-Témiscamingue area is a vast area that is divided into five smaller areas, namely Abitibi, Abitibi-Ouest, Rouyn-Noranda, Témiscamingue and Vallée de l'Or, each of which has a main urban centre, respectively Amos, La Sarre, Rouyn-Noranda, Ville-Marie and Val-d'Or. The total population of the Abitibi-Témiscamingue area is approximately 156,000 inhabitants. The mandate of the Abitibi-Témiscamingue CAVAC is to meet the needs of victims of crime throughout its service area.

The CAVAC provides services throughout the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region. Permanent caseworkers are stationed in Rouyn-Noranda, Amos, Val-d’Or, La Sarre and Ville-Marie. Senneterre is served depending on needs and the criminal court schedule. A CAVAC room is set aside in each courthouse. A caseworker stationed in Val-d’Or covers Native communities in the east of the region, while a Native caseworker stationed in Ville-Marie covers communities in the Témiscamingue area. Services are provided within the community.