Organization of the CAVAC

Information on the Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine CAVAC may be found under the headings:

Board of directors

Composed of nine individuals from the justice and community sectors, the board of directors administers the CAVAC and provides strategic direction for the centre and support to management.

Team of professionals

Persons seeking assistance from the Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine CAVAC can count on a competent, dynamic, bilingual team made up of a director, five individuals trained in support assistance and advocacy and an administrative assistant.

The support workers' expertise in the area of justice-related social and post-trauma intervention allows them to effectively respond in crisis situations and to reassure victims that they will be treated with respect in their dealings with the justice system.

The organization makes the ongoing development of its support workers a priority.


The Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine CAVAC was the fourteenth CAVAC to be created after the coming into force of the Act respecting assistance for victims of crime in 1988. Intervention professionals have been providing assistance to victims of crime and their immediate family and to witnesses to a crime living in the Gaspésie and the Îles-de-la-Madeleine since March 10, 2003.

The CAVAC was inaugurated on February 25, 2003 in the presence of Normand Jutras, the then Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Québec, Guy Lelièvre, Member for Gaspé and Jules Berthelot, chair of the CAVAC board of directors.

Since its opening in March 2003, the CAVAC has provided assistance to a considerable number of victims and is committed to the ongoing development of services to support victims in all their dealings.

Service area

The Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine CAVAC provides services in the area served by the Gaspé (judicial district of Gaspé), Percé (judicial district of Gaspé), New Carlisle (judicial district of Bonaventure), Carleton (judicial district of Bonaventure), Sainte-Anne-des-Monts (judicial district of Gaspé) and Havre-Aubert (judicial district of Gaspé) courthouses.

To find out in which judicial district your municipality is located, click here .