Organization of the CAVAC

Information on the Lanaudière CAVAC may be found under the headings:

Board of directors

The board of directors of CAVAC de Lanaudière has seven elected members, and advisory members from the areas of legal and community work. The board of directors sets the CAVAC’s objectives, oversees its management and provides support for the administrative staff.

Team of professionals

Any person using the services of CAVAC de Lanaudière can rely on the expertise of professional caseworkers with training in social work, psychology and criminology. They are trained to deal with post-traumatic stress, and their knowledge of the legal system enables them to inform victims of crime and help them navigate the criminal legal system.


CAVAC de Lanaudière was incorporated in February 1997 and officially opened in March 1998. It was the eleventh CAVAC to open in Québec.

Service area

CAVAC de Lanaudière serves the administrative region of Lanaudière, which comprises six regional county municipalities: Des Moulins, Assomption, Montcalm, Joliette, D’Autray and Matawinie. The region has one courthouse, four Sûreté du Québec police stations and service points, and five municipal police stations.

CAVAC de Lanaudière offers services to the population in the Lanaudière administrative region.

The municipalities of Terrebonne, Lachenaie and La Plaine, although situated in the Lanaudière administrative region, are in the judicial district of St-Jérôme. For this reason, members of the public in these municipalities can apply to the CAVAC de Lanaudière for various services except court accompaniment, a service provided by staff from the CAVAC des Laurentides.

To find out in which judicial district your municipality is located, click here .