Organization of the CAVAC

Information on the Bas-Saint-Laurent CAVAC may be found under the headings:

Board of directors

The members of the board of directors of the Bas-Saint-Laurent CAVAC are:

Madame Reine-Marie Roy Chair
Madame Julie Gagné Treasurer
Madame Marie-Claire Sirois Secretary
Monsieur Mario Élément Director
Monsieur Éric Morin Director
Madame Francine Dionne Director
Madame Carole Pitre Director
Madame Johanne Gagnon Director

Team of professionals

Persons seeking assistance from the Bas-Saint-Laurent CAVAC are assured of competent services delivered by a team of eleven individuals trained in human resources, specifically in the area of intervention.

Since June 2002, the CAVAC has been providing victims of crime with information on the conditions set at bail hearings or subject to which an offender is placed on probation.


Since its founding in 1990, the Bas-Saint-Laurent CAVAC has changed considerably. In its first year of operation, the director and one employee concentrated on setting up mechanisms of association and collaboration with their partners from the departments of Justice and Public Security.

At the end of the first year, the trainees and volunteers had handled more than 150 requests for services. Five years later, service requests totalled 936. Ten years later, in 2000, the requests had increased to 2,746.

Over the years, the CAVAC's services have been provided by a team consisting of one expert, trainees, contract workers and volunteers. Today, the CAVAC employs eleven persons and has services in five courthouse and the most recent statistics show that it has opened nearly 14,000 case files.

Here are the high points of the Bas-Saint-Laurent CAVAC's history:

  • February 1990 opening of the Rimouski CAVAC;
  • May 2001 opening of the Matane service point;
  • January 2003 opening of the Rivière-du-Loup service point;
  • August 2004 opening of the Amqui service point;
  • October 2004 opening of the Mont-Joli service point.

Service area

The service area of the Bas Saint-Laurent CAVAC corresponds to the area of the judicial districts of Rimouski and Kamouraska.

The district of Rimouski comprises the regional county municipalities of Rimouski-Neigette, La Mitis, Matane and La Matapédia. It is bounded by the municipalities of Lac-des-Aigles, Saint-Simon, Les Méchins and Causapscal.

The judicial district of Rimouski is served by the Rimouski, Mont-Joli, Matane and Amqui courthouses.

The judicial district of Kamouraska comprises the regional county municipalities of Kamouraska, Rivière-du-Loup, Témiscouata and Les Basques. It is bounded by the municipalities of Squatec, Dégelis, Trois-Pistoles and La Pocatière.

The judicial district of Kamouraska is served by the Rivière-du-Loup courthouse.

To find out in which judicial district your municipality is located, click here .